Inexpensive Pedals, Multi Effects Units, Pickups and other gear that surprised you.

AJ6stringsting

Reaction score
Back in the 1980's, I was a traveling touring musician and I was in need of a Rockman style headphone style amp.
I was in Massachusetts and I went into the Daddy's Used Music store , it was a great North Eastern music chain store.
I asked the gentleman behind the counter if he had any headphone amps, he said, " No, but I got a decent headphone amp for the fraction of the price of the Rockman.
He pulled out an Arion Hot Watt 2, the chorus was perfectly transparent, not over baring, the distortion was nothing more than a light version of Ibanez Tubescreamer.
One day at a soundcheck, I plugged the Hot Watt through the effects loop of my amp. That Hot Watt replaced my Boss Super Distortion/ Feedbacker and Tubescreamer.

Davis Sharp

Reaction score
I bought a couple of Arion pedals in the 80s because I could not afford Boss. I still have them and the Stereo Chorus fetches a decent price on eBay. I think they are underrated. Too bad they went out of business.

Almost all my pedals are inexpensive: Donner, Mooer, etc. Good enough for my basement.

BGood

Reaction score
I have an old Ibanez CF7 Chorus/Flanger with a silver tag. Dunno if it's an early model or the tag just faded over time (they came out in 1997), but that thing is sweeeet. Haven't had such an organic chorus on any modelers I've had.

IMG_2535.JPG

BGood

Reaction score