What music do you play?

Darkness

Reaction score
I haven't seen a thread on this, my apologies if one exists. I see that a lot of members here are very particular about their tone and setups, so it made me curious. What kind of music do you play?

Are there certain bands you cover? Do you write and play original music? Bonus "likes" if you post some performance.

I'm a complete noob, I have been learning basic Rolling Stones, Beatles, and other easy classic rock songs. I'd like to start learning songs from The Growlers and Allah-las. I like the surf rock sounds.

soulman969

Reaction score
Ha ha, be easier to list things I've never played. With the exception of heavy metal of any type and classical music I've covered about everything else including polkas and Latin jazz.

These days I'm more into simple roots rock, blues, blues rock, and r&b/soul.

Raiyn

Reaction score
I'm a complete noob, I have been learning basic Rolling Stones, Beatles, and other easy classic rock songs. I'd like to start learning songs from The Growlers and Allah-las. I like the surf rock sounds.
Admittedly, I'm a much better tech than a player, I can get my guitars to sound the way I want, but perhaps not as coherently as I'd like. It's always nice when SWMBO can recognize a song I'm butchering.
I've been fooling around with early Alice Cooper, Satisfaction, by the Stones, I've got post punk / goth stuff like the Cure and Siouxie and the Banshees on my "learn list" as well

It's funny you mention Surf Rock, as a kid (single digits) I was really into that stuff and now it's kinda of come full circle for me as stuff like "Walk Don't Run" and "Apache" are pretty high on the learn list.
I've found that I really like the Surfragettes, Messer Chups, and (partly for laughs) the Vampire Beach Babes.

Otto99

Reaction score
Pink Floyd and other Dino rock, classical, jazz, show tunes… oh, wait, you meant on guitar? Tortured cat sounds is about as far as I can go right now.

imnotcreative